Quantcast Eligibility

Share on Google+Share on FacebookShare on LinkedInShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on Stumble Upon
Custom Search

as historic districts (areas that usually contain a number of
buildings, structures, sites, and objects), each component of the
district must be studied individually and evaluated as being
either a contributing or a non-contributing factor in the
There are also exceptions to the exceptions:
A religious property that derives its primary significance
from architectural or artistic distinction or historic
o A building or structure that has been removed from its
original location but is significant for architectural
value or is the surviving structure associated with a
historic person or event;
A birthplace or grave of a historic figure if there is no
other appropriate site or building directly associated
with his or her productive life;
o A cemetery that derives its primary significance from
graves of persons of transcendent importance, from
distinctive design features, or from association with
historic events;
o A reconstructed building, when accurately executed as part
of a restoration master plan, and when no other building
or structure with the same association has survived;
A property, primarily commemorative, if design, age,
tradition, or symbolic value has given it its own historic
significance; and
o A property that has achieved significance within the past
50 years if it is of exceptional importance.  An example
of an exception to the 50-year rule is the Dunes
International Airport terminal, near Washington, D.C.,
constructed in 1962.  Designed by the architectural firm
of Eero Saarinen and Associates, the terminal was
considered to be of such outstanding architectural
interest that it was declared eligible for listing on the
Register in February 1978, only 16 years after it was
Other, possibly less glamorous, exceptions that may be of
special concern are the World War II "temporary" buildings
constructed on military bases between 1939 and 1946.  A blanket
demolition order was issued for these buildings by DOD in the
early 1980s, but they are now protected by a special programmatic
agreement (PA) .  By definition in the PA, World War II temporary
buildings are those built between 1939 and 1946 and currently
classified in the NAVFAC P-164 (see Section 2.6) as "T".  World
War II buildings originally built as temporary, but no longer
classified as such, are not covered by the PA.  The PA will


Privacy Statement - Copyright Information. - Contact Us

Integrated Publishing, Inc.